Back to feed
Artificial intelligenceSingle source

Google to restrict Gemini model access for free and AI Plus users

Google will change model access in the Gemini app, leaving free users with Flash-Lite and AI Plus subscribers with Flash-Lite and Flash. The free-tier changes will take effect on October 9.

Preferred on Google
Text size

Image: 9to5google.com · Author: Abner Li · source articleEditorial excerpt for news reporting

Google plans to restrict which models are available to free Gemini users and AI Plus subscribers. Users without a subscription will lose access to Flash and Pro, leaving Flash-Lite as their available model.

The free-tier changes will begin on October 9. An updated support document does not specify when the AI Plus changes will take effect.

Model access by subscription tier

AI Plus subscribers paying $4.99 per month will retain access to Flash-Lite and Flash but lose Pro. Google says it will email them with the timing of the change.

No access reductions were announced for AI Pro or AI Ultra. AI Pro subscribers paying $19.99 per month will instead gain Deep Think, a “maximum parallel reasoning” option currently limited to plans costing $99.99 and $199.99 per month.

New effort levels for responses

The Gemini app also appears set to add “low,” “medium” and “high” effort levels for each available model in October. Higher levels are intended to improve task completion and produce more thorough answers, but they will consume more of a user’s allowance.

The app currently offers only “Extended thinking: Complex problem solving.” The three new levels would match options available in Google AI Studio and Antigravity.

Google has not said where Gemini 4 Argon will fit in this structure. The company announced that Argon will first come to AI Ultra subscribers, but has not specified whether it will be classified as a Pro model or placed in a new tier above Pro.

What we know

  • Free Gemini users will have only Flash-Lite available starting October 9.
  • AI Plus subscribers will lose Pro access but retain Flash-Lite and Flash.
  • The $19.99-per-month AI Pro plan will gain Deep Think.
  • Google may add three effort levels for every available model in October.
  • Gemini 4 Argon’s place in the new access structure remains unspecified.

Trust: Single source

  • The story relies on one publisher. A second independent confirmation has not been established from the cited sources.
  • Cited links: 1. Publisher groups: 1. Sources: 9to5Mac.
  • This describes the available source evidence, not a probability of truth or a claim of manual editorial review.
Related updates appear in the story timeline. This assessment changes with the sources attached to this story.
View sources1

COMMUNITY

Discussion

0

No comments yet. Start the discussion.