Back to feed
LaptopsSingle source

HP unveils $699 MacBook Neo rival with OLED display and major compromises

HP announced the Windows-based OmniBook 5 14 with a $699 starting price and an OLED display. The Best Buy version arriving later this month will use a 2K panel rated at 300 nits, while the brighter 2.5K model is delayed until March 2027.

Preferred on Google
Text size

Image: 9to5google.com · Author: Will Sattelberg · source articleEditorial excerpt for news reporting

HP introduced the Windows-based OmniBook 5 14 as a competitor to Apple’s lower-cost MacBook Neo. The laptop starts at $699, but HP has not disclosed the processor, memory or storage configuration for that price.

The 14-inch laptop includes an OLED display, two full-function USB-C ports, a headphone jack and an FHD camera with Windows Hello support. It is 11.77mm thick and weighs 2.56 pounds.

Two OLED versions, different schedules

HP described a 2.5K OLED panel rated at up to 650 nits, but that version will not ship until March 2027. The model coming to Best Buy later this month will use a 2K OLED display with a maximum brightness of 300 nits.

Processor and battery claims

The OmniBook 5 14 will support an Intel Core 7 processor, although HP has not identified the specific chip for the entry-level model. The company claims up to 42 hours of local video playback, without specifying the battery capacity.

The laptop is compatible with HP’s 65W compact GaN charger. HP also lists dual microphones and Poly Studio-tuned audio among its features.

The missing memory and storage details make a direct comparison with the MacBook Neo difficult. HP has also not said which processor will ship in the $699 configuration.

What we know

  • HP introduced the OmniBook 5 14, a Windows laptop starting at $699.
  • The Best Buy model will have a 2K OLED display rated at 300 nits.
  • The 2.5K OLED version, rated at 650 nits, is scheduled for March 2027.
  • HP claims up to 42 hours of local video playback but has not disclosed battery capacity.
  • The $699 model’s processor, memory and storage configurations remain unspecified.

Trust: Single source

  • The story relies on one publisher. A second independent confirmation has not been established from the cited sources.
  • Sources: 9to5Mac.
Related news
View sources1

COMMUNITY

Discussion

—

Loading comments…